What is Change Management? - ITIL Concepts

What is Change Management?

The up gradation, configuration, commissioning, decommissioning of the IT services refers to the Change. These changes have to be implemented within the minimum disruption of services. When a change is implemented, Change Management process needs to deal with some of the aspects such as:

  • The adverse impact of the change need to be studied and minimized.
  • The change management process needs to be created and maintained.
  • The unauthorized environment changed need to be prevented.
  • All the changes have to be recorded.
  • All the changes after implementation need to be reviewed.

The change management team is not responsible for the change rather a technical team implements the change management and the change is reviewed and approved by the change management team. The process owner of this process is the Change Manager.

Key Points:

  • The person approving the change and closing it and who check whether the change meets the desired result is Change Manager.
  • The changes are raised by the Change coordinator
  • The screen shots of the change has to be sent by the Change coordinator in Post Implementation Report

What are the objectives of Change Management process?

The objectives of the change management process are as follows:

objectives of the change management process

What are the Seven Rs of Change Management?

For the change to happen, there are seven questions which need to be answered, which enables to assess the risk associated with the change and the impact of the change and the benefits associated with the change for the service.

Seven Rs of Change Management

The catalyst and the key information source for the change to happen is the Request For Change (RFC). It is a catalyst for the change activities like:

  • Create and record
  • Review
  • Assess and evaluate
  • Authorize
  • Plan
  • Coordinate
  • Review
  • Close

A particular change model which best suits the nature and type of change is followed by each of the RFC.

What are the different Change Management Models?

There are three models of change management.

  • Standard change Model
  • Normal change Model
  • Emergency change Model

Standard change model

The changes that are well tested, low risk, repetitive and pre-authorized use this model.

Normal change model

The change will undergo assessment, authorization, an Change Advisory Board (CAB) agreement under this model prior the change is implemented.

Normal change model

Emergency change model

The critical changes which restore the failed high availability service failure are dealt under this model.

All rights reserved © 2018 Wisdom IT Services India Pvt. Ltd DMCA.com Protection Status

ITIL Concepts Topics