Service Continuity Management - ITIL Concepts

What is Service Continuity Management?

As the name implies, the continuity of the IT service during the time of disaster is ensured by the Service Continuity Management (ITSCM). The level of insurance required to protect the service assets is evaluated and the manuscript to recover from the disaster is provided by the Service Continuity Management. The owner of this process is the IT Service Continuity Manager.

What are the objectives of ITSCM?

The various objectives of the ITSCM are depicted below:

objectives of ITSCM

Explain the process of ITSCM?

There are four stages in the process of ITSCM - Initiation, Requirements & strategy, Implementation, and Ongoing operation.

process of ITSCM


At this stage, policies are set, scope and the terms of reference are defined, project is planned and the resource allocation is done.

Requirements and strategy

At this stage the business impact is analyzed and the risk is assessed.


At this stage, the risk reduction measures are executed, the recovery options are arranged and testing and plans are incorporated.

Ongoing operation

At this stage awareness is created, the control of the ITSCM plans are changed and the tests are done.

All rights reserved © 2020 Wisdom IT Services India Pvt. Ltd Protection Status

ITIL Concepts Topics