Indian Polity Constitutional Schedules - Indian Polity

What are Indian Polity Constitutional Schedules?

  • Basically, there were only eight Schedules; and these four schedules were added after subsequent amendments.

Here’s the basic summary of all twelve schedules is described in the following table −

Schedules Parts Lists
Schedule I Part I List of the States.
Part II List of the Union.
Schedule II Part A Provisions as to the President and the Governors of States.
Part B Repealed
Part C Provisions as to the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the House of the People and the Chairman and the Deputy Chairman of the Council of States and the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Assembly and the Chairman and the Deputy Chairman of the Legislative Council of a State.
Part D Provisions as to the Judges of the Supreme Court and of the High Courts.
Part E Provisions as to the Comptroller and Auditor-General of India.
Schedule III Forms of Oaths or Affirmations.
Schedule IV Allocation of seats in the Council of States.
Schedule V Provisions as to the Administration and Control of Scheduled Areas and Scheduled Tribes.
Schedule VI Provisions as to the Administration of Tribal Areas in the States of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram.
Schedule VII List I Union List
List II State List
List III Concurrent List
Schedule VIII

List of 22 Languages −

1. Assamese 2. Bengali 3. Gujarati
4. Hindi 5. Kannada 6. Kashmiri
7. Malayalam 8. Marathi 9. Oriya
10. Punjabi 11. Sanskrit 12. Tamil
13. Telugu 14. Urdu 15. Sindhi
16. Konkani 17. Manipuri 18. Nepali
19. Santhali 20. Bodo 21. Maithili
22. Dogri

Initially, there were only 14 languages, but after 21stAmendment (1967) Sindhi was added; after 71stAmendment (1992), Konkani, Manipuri, and Nepali added; and after 92ndAmendment (2003), Santhali, Bodo, Maithili, and Dogri added.

Schedule IX Added by 1stAmendment in 1951 Contains acts & orders related to land tenure, land tax, railways, industries (Right of property not a fundamental right).
Schedule X Added by 52ndAmendment in 1985 Provisions as to disqualification on ground of defection.
Schedule XI Added by 73rdAmendment in 1992 Powers, authority and responsibilities of Panchayats.
Schedule XII Added by 74thAmendment in 1992 Powers, authority and responsibilities of Municipalities, etc.

All rights reserved © 2020 Wisdom IT Services India Pvt. Ltd Protection Status

Indian Polity Topics