General Knowledge Viceroys of India - General Knowledge

The following table illustrates the Viceroys of India along with their ruling period −

Name Period Picture
Viscount Canning 1858 to 1862 viscount_canning (1)
Earl of Elgin 1862 to 1863 earl_of_elgin
Sir Robert Napier Nov 1863 to Dec 1863 sir_robert_napier
Sir William Denison 1863 to 1864 sir_william_denison
Sir John Lawrence 1864 to 1869 sir_john_lawrence
Earl of Mayo 1869 to 1872 earl_of_mayo
Sir John Strachey Feb 9, 1872 to Feb 23, 1872 sir_john_strachey
Lord Napier Feb 1872 to May 1872 lord_napier
Lord Northbrook 1872 to 1876 lord_northbrook
Lord Lytton 1876 to 1880 lord_lytton
Marquess of Ripon 1880 to 1884 marquess_of_ripon
Earl of Dufferin 1884 to 1888
Marquess of Lansdowne 1888 to 1894 marquess_of_lansdowne
Earl of Elgin 1894 to 1899 earl_of_elgin2
Lord Curzon 1899 to 1905 lord_curzon
Earl of Minto 1905 to 1910 earl_of_minto
Lord Hardinge 1910 to 1916 lord_hardinge
Lord Chelmsford 1916 to 1921 lord_chelmsford
Earl of Reading 1921 to 1926 earl_of_reading
Lord Irwin 1926 to 1931 lord_irwin
Earl of Willingdon 1931 to 1936 earl_of_willingdon
Marquess of Linlithgow 1936 to 1943 marquess_of_linlithgow
Viscount Wavell 1943 to 1947 viscount_wavell
Lord Mountbatten Feb 1947 to Aug 1947 lord_mountbatten
Governors-General of Independent India
Lord Mountbatten 1947 to 1948 lord_mountbatten (1)
C. Rajagopalachari 1948 to 1950 c_rajagopalachari

All rights reserved © 2018 Wisdom IT Services India Pvt. Ltd DMCA.com Protection Status

General Knowledge Topics